Test Scores

 Accountability Report   -   School Report Card    
 Standardized Testing in Gwinnett County - Testing Schedule 
 Promotion Requirements 

A critical part of the teaching & learning process is assessing how well students are learning.  GCPS' comprehensive assessment program measures student learning against local, state, & national standards.  Teachers use this data to guide instruction, and address students' strengths & weaknesses.

Accountability Report 2008-09: Gwinnett County Public Schools has developed an accountability system for improving schools called the Results-Based Evaluation System (RBES).  This system fairly and systematically measures a school's progress, providing a process that clearly communicates expectations; reviews, monitors, and supports school performance; and evaluates that performance. Included is data on Gateway, CRCT, Promotion Requirements, Staff & Student Data, and school highlights.   (Click on Duluth Cluster, click Berkeley Lake Elementary School.) 

BLES School Report Card 2007-08: This link brings you to the Office of Education Accountability. OEA's major purpose is the establishment of performance-based accountability standards for all of Georgia's education system, from pre-kindergarten through post-secondary grades (P-16).  Explanation of the school report card. (Select Gwinnett County, Berkeley Lake Elementary, and View School Report.)

Georgia School Council Reports - updated as tests are scored - For BLES information: on left, under School Reports, System: choose Gwinnett County Schools; School: choose Berkeley Lake Elementary.  Under Select a Report: choose Profile, Test Scores or Similar Schools  Test Scores will give you updated information on the CRCT.

Standardized Testing  Schedule

The following is a list of the standardized tests elementary students in Gwinnett County must take.

Kindergarten:  The GA Kindergarten Assessment Program (GKAP) is administered throughout the school year to all Kindergarten students.  The GKAP, which is based on Georgia's Quality Core Curriculum (QCC), assesses a student individually in 5 areas: communicative skills, logical - mathematical skills, physical skills, personal skills, and social skills.  This assessment aids in determining readiness for 1st grade.

1st, 3rd, & 5th grades:  The Cognitive Ability Test (CogAT), taken in the fall, is a screening of mental abilities.  It provides a basis on which to measure a student's school achievement.  It also helps to identify potential participants for the gifted program.

1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th grades:  The Criterion-Referenced Competency Test (CRCT) is designed to measure student acquisition of knowledge, concepts and skills set forth in the state curriculum called the Quality Core Curriculum (QCC).  It is given in the content areas of Reading, English/Language Arts and Math in grades 1, 2, 3, 4, & 5 and also Social Studies & Science in grades 3, 4, & 5.  For 4th grade students, the Social Studies & Science CRCT replaces the Social Studies & Science portions of the Gateway.  Info from the state regarding the CRCT

3rd & 5th grades:  ITBS (Iowa Test of Basic Skills), taken in the Fall, is a nationally normed achievement test which compares the general performance of GA students with the performance of students in the rest of the nation.

Writing Assessments:  During the month of April, 3rd grade teachers, using multiple samples of student writing will determine the representative stage of writing for each child in the grade level.  Grade 5 students take a formal writing assessment during the month of January which is part of the Gateway assessment.  Students are required to pass this assessment to progress to grade 6.  Both of these assessments are required by the State of GA.  Student results will be sent home to parents in the final progress report.

Gateway Assessment:  The purpose of the Gateway Assessment Program is to measure and report student progress on the Gwinnett County core curriculum, the Academic Knowledge and Skills (AKS).  Students enrolled in GCPS are required to take the assessments if enrolled in Gr 4 & 5 at the elementary school level.  Students in grade 4 are required to pass both subtests of the Gateway Assessments to earn promotion to the next grade level.  The subtests are in the content areas of language arts and mathematics.  Students in Gr 5 must make a minimum passing score on the GA Writing Assessment in addition to achieving enough of the AKS to be successful at the next school level to earn promotion.