Home Kid Links GCPS Parent Portal  
Minor Information
Faculty & Staff
Parent Info
Title I
Minor Diner
Media Center
Berkmar Cluster Schools
Relay For Life
WiiMote Links


New Student Registration Information


Minor's Partners In Education

Before School Clubs


Student Accountability Report


  Minor Information
History of Minor Elementary

Rebecca Minor Elementary School was built in 1986 and opened in the fall of 1987. The original Minor mascot was the Minor Miners and our motto was "Minor Miners-Learning and Working Together." In 2007, we changed our mascot to Minor Patriots and our motto is Quality Practices Revolutionary Results.  We believe each student can achieve excellence through high standards and high expectations.  Our school was named for a beloved teacher, whose love for children not only endeared her to her students, but led her to explore many dynamic and effective avenues for teaching them. Teachers at Minor have continued Rebecca Minor's tradition by reaching out to all students and helping their learning experience be positive and exciting. Our teachers continuously strive for educational excellence and to instill in our students a joy of learning and a sense of responsibility for their actions. Although the student population at Minor has grown and changed over the years, our goal to maintain high expectations for all students has remained consistent.

Minor has a history of growth. A wing was constructed in the fall of 1988 to alleviate the overcrowding that Minor experienced when the school opened. However, despite the opening of Kanoheda, which was expected to solve our crowded situation, continued growth during the 1990s resulted in a school population of over 1,400 students. A second major construction project and the opening of Corley Elementary helped alleviate our growth in 2003.  We have continued to grow.  In 2010, Ferguson Elementary will open and will again alleviate our population growth.  

Our community entered a period of transition during the 1990s, which resulted in increased mobility as well as ethnic and economic diversity. The increasingly diverse and transient nature of our student population offers opportunities and challenges as we attempt to accomplish our mission to provide a secure learning environment where no child is left behind.

Mr. John Tippins was named the first principal and began many fine Minor traditions. In 1989, Mr. Freddie Williams became the second principal. Under his leadership, Minor was recognized as a National Blue Ribbon School of Excellence (2000). In 2002, we welcomed Dr. Larry Stone as Minor's third principal. Mrs. Barbara Ergle became our fourth principal in the fall of 2004. Minor was recognized as a Title One Distinguished School during 2007. In the fall of 2009, Ms. Christina Wimmer has become our fifth principal here at Minor.  Throughout the history of Minor Elementary, parents, teachers, and students have always been proud of our school and its many fine programs.

• Go • Elements • Teacher Links • Scheduler •

Directions to Minor

Click here for directions from MapQuest

From I-85

Exit off of Pleasant Hill Road and turn away from the mall

Continue for about 3 miles

Turn right onto Burns Road

Turn right onto Huntington Way

Turn Left onto Shady Drive

Minor Elementary is on right

The general boundaries of Minor Elementary are the neighborhoods between Beaver Ruin and Pleasant Hill from Highway 29 to Arc Way on Pleasant Hill and to Dunleaf Arc Way on Beaver Ruin.

Click here for a boundary map.