Faculty and Staff

Academic Assistance Programs

Media Center

Academic / Extracurricular Activities


Policies and Procedures

Business Partners

Sapphire Partners

Friends of Shiloh


Award Winning Books

Each year awards are given to many children’s books.  Some of these awards are listed below. 
Click on the award name to find out more information and a list of winners for this and previous years.

                         Newbery Medal Award

The Newbery Medal is awarded each year to the author with the greatest contribution to children’s literature. 
The award was named for John Newbery, the first publisher of children’s periodicals. 

                         Caldecott Medal Award

The Caldecott Medal is awarded each year to the illustrator of the most outstanding picture book. 
The award was named for Randolph Caldecott, a distinguished English illustrator.

                         Georgia Children’s Book Award

The Georgia Children’s Book Award was begun in 1969 to encourage reading in grades 6-8. 
This award is sponsored by the University of Georgia.  Each year Georgia students vote for their favorite
book after reading at least three titles from a master list.

                    Coretta Scott King Award

This award is awarded each year to a black author and illustrator whose works promote world unity and peace. 
This award honors Mrs. King for her determination and courage.