GCPS Board Meeting Summary for October 10, 2002

          The following are highlights of the October 10, 2002, meeting of the Gwinnett County Board of Education.
          The official minutes of the meeting will be approved by the Board at its next monthly meeting.

          Board of Education recognizes schools and staff for Relay for Life efforts

          School Board members honored Gwinnett County Public Schools' employees and their fundraising efforts on behalf of the American Cancer Society's Relay for Life. On May 17 and 18, Gwinnett County made history by becoming the #1 Relay for Life event in the nation. In 2002, hundreds of Gwinnett teams joined together and raised more than $2 million. The school system fielded 275 teams in the event. These teams raised more than $830,000, approximately 44% of the entire amount collected. Sandy Ray with the American Cancer Society thanked the Board for GCPS' support and commitment saying "Other Relay events across the country are jealous of our Relay because of the school system's involvement."

          The Board recognized 31 schools or departments in GCPS for their Relay for Life efforts. Each of the following teams raised more than $10,000:
          Arcado ES, Berkeley Lake ES, Bethesda ES, Brookwood ES, Brookwood HS, Camp Creek ES, Cedar Hill ES, Collins Hill HS, Craig ES, Creekland MS, Alton C. Crews MS, Five Forks MS, Fort Daniel ES, Freeman's Mill ES, GCPS Transportation Department, Gwinnett Technical College, Harbins ES, R.D. Head ES, Jackson ES, Lanier MS, Rebecca Minor ES, Mountain Park ES, Nesbit ES, Norcross HS, Riverside ES, Shiloh HS, Shiloh MS, Sugar Hill ES, Sweetwater MS, K.E. Taylor ES, and Trickum MS.

          Also recognized were the following school system employees who served on the steering committee for the Relay for Life event: Karen Adams of Berkmar HS, Elaine Bell of Collins Hill HS, Dianne Fahring of Sugar Hill ES, Cathy Karlick of Lilburn MS, Stefanie Woods of Meadowcreek HS, Linda Story of Collins Hill HS, Diana Preston of Lilburn MS, and Alma Thomas of the Central Office.

          Meadowcreek Cluster MS to be named for District V School Board member Louise Radloff

          Gwinnett School Board policy regarding the naming of new facilities says that the first consideration in name selections shall be the honor and integrity which the name will reflect upon the school. Realizing this, Superintendent Alvin Wilbanks respectfully asked the Board to set aside its normal naming process and to name the new Meadowcreek Cluster middle school after longtime School Board member Louise Radloff. In making his recommendation, Mr. Wilbanks praised Mrs. Radloff for her 30-plus years of service to the Gwinnett County Board of Education and her stalwart support of education in Gwinnett County, throughout the state, and in the nation.

          Upon the Board's unanimous approval of this recommendation, Mrs. Radloff said, "There are no words to express the emotion I feel at this moment. A dream of anyone involved in education would be to have a school named after you; few people ever realize that dream. Thanks for this wonderful gesture. It is the height of all honors."

          In his closing comments, Board Chair Daniel Seckinger said "Mrs. Radloff, you are more than deserving of this honor and we salute you."

          School Board reviews 2002 Building Program

          Board members received an update on plans and projects in the 2002 building program. Mr. Wilbanks reviewed projects opening in the coming years and shared information about the school system's accuracy in projecting enrollment year after year. The Board also discussed the county's continued growth and the challenge of building classrooms to house an ever-increasing student population. Currently, Gwinnett County Public Schools has 15 new schools under construction. When complete, the 2002 building program will have provided almost 2,000 new classrooms through new schools and additions to existing schools.

          In talking about growth issues, Board members praised Dacula MS Principal Georgia Barnwell and Dacula HS Principal Donald Nutt for their efforts to involve the community in decisions regarding housing options for 2003-04. Both schools face a serious challenge in housing an even-larger student population next year, and are seeking feedback on several one-year solutions. Special appreciation also was expressed toward the staffs of both schools who, despite the challenges that accompany rapid growth, have remained focus on teaching and learning.

          Board approves tabled policies

          School Board members approved the following policies which had been tabled at the September meeting to allow for public input:
          -- Policy ED - Student Transportation Management-- Changes to this policy reflect changes in state law.
          -- Policy GA - Sexual Harassment/Discrimination (Employees)-- Changes update policy and change the descriptor code and title from JC "Grievance/Appeal Procedure" to GA "Sexual Harassment/Discrimination (Employees)."
          -- Policy JGC - Student Health Services-- In addition to changing the name from "School Health Nurse Program," the changes broaden the policy and its accompanying procedure.
          -- Policy JGCC - Communicable Diseases and Policy JGCD - Medicines-- Information contained in these policies was incorporated into Procedure P.JGC "Student Health Services," which accompanies Policy JGC.

          The School Board also approved the following appointments.

          Name-- Current Position


          Lisa Hopper-- Student Systems Specialist, IBM

          Systems Analyst, Information Management Division

          Jeffrey Robertson-- Technical Support Technician and Systems Administrator, J.E. Richards MS

          Systems Analyst, Information Management Division

          Debra Hall-Griffin-- Administrative Assistant, Buchanan HS of Technology

          Assistant Principal, Buchanan HS of Technology

          Peggy Goodman-- Administrative Assistant, Richard Hull MS

          Assistant Principal, Richard Hull MS

          Kimberly Reed-- Teacher, Lula ES, Hall County

          Assistant Principal, Freeman's Mill ES

          Angela Pacholke-- Administrative Assistant, Riverside ES

          Assistant Principal, Riverside ES

          Matthew Waymack-- Administrative Assistant and In-School Suspension Supervisor, Collins Hill HS

          Administrative Assistant, Collins Hill HS